Canada-Ukraine Parliamentary Friendship Group holds AGM, elects new leadership

March 11, 2020. OTTAWA. On March 9, the Canada-Ukraine Parliamentary Friendship Group (CUPFG) held its Annual General Meeting. One of the largest friendship groups in Canada’s Parliament, the CUPFG brings together over 100 parliamentarians from all political parties and provides an important forum for enhancing the relationship between Canada and Ukraine.

Yvan Baker, MP (Etobicoke Centre) was elected Chair of the CUPFG.

Elected as Vice Chairs of the Friendship Group were:

James Bezan, MP (Selkirk-Interlake-Eastman)

Stéphane Bergeron, MP (Montraville)

Heather McPherson, MP (Edmonton Strathcona)

James Maloney, MP (Etobicoke-Lakeshore)

Julie Dzerowicz, MP (Davenport) was elected Secretary

Cathay Wagantall, MP (Yorkton-Melville) was elected Treasurer

“On behalf of the Ukrainian Canadian community, I offer my sincere congratulations to the new leadership and all members of the CUPFG. For many years, the Friendship Group has ensured growing ties between our two countries,” stated Alexandra Chyczij, National President of the UCC. “Canada’s parliamentarians are strongly committed to supporting the Ukrainian people. We look forward working closely with the Group on strengthening Canada-Ukraine relations, and reinforcing Canada’s support for Ukraine as the Ukrainian people courageously defend their country from Russia’s aggression.”

Ahead of the 2019 Federal Election, the UCC surveyed the Ukrainian Canadian community on policy priorities. Two of the priorities identified by our community refer to Canada-Ukraine relations:

 Strengthening Canada-Ukraine Defence and Security Relations

Supporting Democratic and Economic Reform in Ukraine

The UCC will work with the CUPFG on these and other issues of importance to our community.

In addition to the Executive, the following parliamentarians have been elected as Directors of the CUPFG:

Han Dong, M.P. Don Valley North

Terry Duguid, M.P. Winnipeg South

Rosemarie Falk, M.P. Battlefords—Lloydminster

Peter Fonseca, M.P. Mississauga East—Cooksville

Irek Kusmierczyk, M.P. Windsor—Tecumseh

Kevin Lamoureux, M.P. Winnipeg North

Raj Saini, M.P. Kitchener Centre

Gerald Soroka, M.P. Yellowhead

Arif Virani, M.P. Parkdale—High Park

David Yurdiga, M.P. Fort McMurray—Cold Lake


Related Posts

facebook YouTube Channel Instagram twitter RSS Feed